skip navigation

Western Australian Consumer Protection Awards


Congratulations to the winners and finalists of the 2014 Consumer Protection Awards and many thanks to all the nominees for their dedication to advancing consumer protection and injury prevention for children in Western Australia.

Details about this year’s finalists are in our media statement about the shortlist.

Rona Okely Award

Winner: Sandra Brown

Sandra Brown previously worked for the Citizens Advice Bureau of WA (Inc) for 18 years as Deputy Director and from 2003 as Chief Executive Officer. The Bureau provides legal advice and offers mediation, conciliation and facilitation services to the general public. Sandra has provided information and advice to community groups such as seniors clubs, probus clubs, retirement villages and schools on issues such as consumer rights and tenancy law. Since retiring in 2011, Sandra continues to present talks on consumer rights and responsibilities to not-for-profit groups on a voluntary basis.

Finalist: Gavan Forster

Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award

Winner: Consumers’ Association of WA

The Consumers’ Association of Western Australia (CAWA) formed in 1975 and is a non-profit, voluntary organisation run by consumers for consumers. Through advocacy, lobbying and submissions, CAWA has achieved results for consumers across a range of issues such as banning unsafe children’s umbrellas and establishing REVS relating to vehicle hire purchase encumbrances.

Finalists: Advocare Incorporated and Consumer Credit Legal Service (WA)

Kidsafe WA Award

Winner: RAC — bstreetsmart

RAC bstreetsmart is a ‘true to life’ road crash re-enactment event for school students in Years 10–12. Its aim is to reduce the fatality and injury rates of young people by promoting safer driving and passenger behaviours. In 2012 and 2013 the RAC teamed up with Western Australia Police, the Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Royal Perth Hospital and St John Ambulance to bring RAC bstreetsmart to Perth as part of a series of road safety presentations.

Finalist: Samantha Menezes

Ruby Hutchison Award

Winner: Natalie Bonjolo

Natalie Bonjolo is a senior reporter with Channel Seven’s Today Tonight program. Since joining the team in 2004, she has worked on several major consumer investigations from Ponzi schemes to overseas scams. Natalie has gained a reputation for exposing fraudulent practices and practitioners with the aim of warning and informing consumers. One such case is the notorious Bitumen Bandits. This led to a comprehensive fraud investigation by police into a business that had been targeting Perth home owners for 20 years.

Finalists: David Weber and Rashelle Predovnik

This year marks an important milestone in the history of the Awards being the 10th time we have recognised community advocacy of consumer protection in Western Australia. The video below was shown at the presentation ceremony to mark the occasion.



Nominating for the Awards provides an opportunity to showcase outstanding work and recognise the achievements of individuals and organisations. Nominations for the 2015 Awards will re-open in September 2014.

Please use the tabs at the side to find out more about the Awards, or you can contact us by:

 phone 1300 30 40 54

The Project Officer, Western Australian Consumer Protection Awards
Department of Commerce
Locked Bag 14
Cloisters Square
PERTH WA 6850 

Previous finalists and winners

You can see coverage of the 2013 Awards in the video below:

Read about previous finalists and winners since 2004.

General information