10th Consumer Protection Awards – nominations open

Information status

All announcements issued prior to 1 July 2017 were issued by the former Department of Commerce. Announcements listed here are the latest versions available. For more information on this announcement, please contact online@dmirs.wa.gov.au.

Nominations are open for the 10th annual Consumer Protection Awards which will take place next March.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection Anne Driscoll is encouraging Western Australians to think about those who deserve public recognition and put their names forward.

“The Consumer Protection Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the outstanding work being done in the community to inform consumers and champion their interests; from the creation of safer products to education on money management or scam prevention.

“There are four award categories for significant contributions to consumer protection in WA:

  • The Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • The Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project;
  • The Kidsafe WA Award which focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children and acknowledges an individual, local government, non-government organisation, business or group of individuals; and
  • The Media Award which acknowledges an individual journalist or media outlet in raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer issues.

“The nomination process is simple and can be completed online so I would urge members of the community and media to visit the Consumer Protection website and nominate.”

The Commissioner added: “I am delighted that we will be celebrating the 10th year of the Awards in 2014 and that for the third year running there will be a Media Award category to recognise the significant role of WA’s journalists in raising awareness of consumer issues.”

A luncheon to announce the results will be held in March 2014 and all finalists will be invited. Winners will be recognised through cheques of up to $2,500 each, as well as a plaque, framed certificate presented by the Minister for Commerce and their name engraved on the perpetual shield.

To find out more about the award categories and to download a nomination form, visit: www.commerce.wa.gov.au/cpawards.  Nominations close at 5pm, Friday 29 November 2013.


(Consumer Protection is a division of the Department of Commerce)

Follow us on Twitter: @ConsumerWA or like our Facebook page – www.facebook.com/ConsumerProtectionWesternAustralia

Media Contact:
Alina Cavanagh  9282 0679 or 0423-846397 alina.cavanagh@commerce.wa.gov.au


Consumer Protection
Media release
04 Sep 2013

Share this page:

Last modified: