Consumer Protection Awards 2013

22 March 2013 – 11.30am-2pm
The University Club of Western Australia, Hackett Drive, Crawley

The ninth annual Western Australian Consumer Protection Awards are being announced by new Commerce Minister Michael Mischin on 22 March 2013.

The Rona Okely Award acknowledges an individual Western Australian who has influenced and inspired the advancement, development and promotion of consumer protection in their community and who has given selflessly of their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others.


  •  Lynda Wennstrom from the Fremantle Community Legal Service;
  •  Boon-Beng Chew from the Shire of Christmas Island

The Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award acknowledges a local government authority, organisation or group of individuals operating in Western Australia which has, through their particular field of endeavour, made a significant and enduring contribution to the advancement of consumer protection in their community. The organisation or group delivers a service or carries out projects or initiatives which raise community understanding and awareness of consumer protection issues.


  •  Consumer Credit Legal Service (WA);
  •  Council on the Ageing (WA); and
  •  Jacaranda Community Centre in Belmont.

The Kidsafe WA Award recognises and rewards local government authorities, businesses, community groups or individuals who contribute to child safety. This includes raising awareness of specific product hazards, involvement in the design and development of new products that improve consumer safety, and developing or delivering projects or initiatives that raise community understanding and awareness of product safety issues for children.


  •  Anne Miller from School Drug Education and Road Aware; and
  •  Shady Days clothing for children.

The Media Award acknowledges an individual journalist or media outlet that has made a recent and significant contribution to the advancement of consumer protection and/or product safety in Western Australia. They may have worked to raise community understanding and awareness of consumer protection issues and/or product safety, or been instrumental in bringing to light a significant breach of consumer laws.


  •  Louise Burke of The West Australian (formerly);
  •  Kalgoorlie Miner;
  •  Natalie Bonjolo of Channel 7’s Today Tonight program; and
  •  720 ABC Perth Morning program with Geoff Hutchison.

Interviews, photo or video opportunities can be arranged.


Media Contact:
Alan Hynd
9282 0961 or 0429 078 791 

Consumer Protection
Media release
21 Mar 2013

Share this page:

Last modified: