Nominate for Work Safety Awards Western Australia 2012

Scheduled system outage

AssociationsOnline, BondsOnline and Licence renewals will be unavailable from 5pm on Friday, 23 February until 8am on Monday, 26 February to allow for scheduled system improvements. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.

Information status

All announcements issued prior to 1 July 2017 were issued by the former Department of Commerce. Announcements listed here are the latest versions available, but may be subject to review. For more information on this announcement, please contact

WorkSafe has called for nominations for the prestigious Work Safety Awards Western Australia 2012, recognising outstanding occupational safety and health achievement.

WorkSafe WA Commissioner Lex McCulloch said today the Awards were an opportunity to gain valuable acknowledgment of excellent safety management, solutions and innovations in Western Australian workplaces.

"The Work Safety Awards Western Australia are a chance for individuals, groups, organisations and enterprises to gain not just local but also national recognition for their good work in the occupational safety and health arena," Mr McCulloch said.

"They recognise and reward outstanding achievements in any of four categories that reduce the risk of work-related injury and disease.

"The Western Australian winners in all categories are automatically entered into the Australia-wide Safe Work Australia Awards and a chance for valuable national recognition.

"In past years, two of our very innovative Western Australians have gone on to win at the national level and reap the benefits of national recognition."

The four Award categories for 2012 are:

  • Best workplace safety and health management system (private and public sector);
  • Best workplace safety and health practices in small business;
  • Best solution to an identified workplace safety and health issue; and
  • Best individual contribution to workplace safety and health (with or without formal OSH responsibilities).

Nominations close on July 6 and the category winners will be announced at the Safe Work Australia Month breakfast in October.

Category winners in the national Safe Work Australia Awards will be announced in April, 2013.

"I am consistently seeing excellent occupational safety and health practices in Western Australian organisations, and it is important that we recognise and acknowledge this publicly," Mr McCulloch said.

"Any achievement in workplace safety and health - whether it be an everyday individual achievement or a large-scale initiative - could be worthy of a Work Safety Award WA in 2012.

"It's important that organisations are given the opportunity to celebrate their success together with their employees because everyone benefits from good workplace safety and health practice."

Entry forms and Award criteria for the Work Safety Awards Western Australia 2012 can be obtained by telephoning WorkSafe on 1300 307877 or on the website at

Media contact:
Caroline De Vaney
9327 8744 or 0408 927563 (media enquiries only).

Media release
24 Apr 2012

Share this page:

Last modified: