Plumbers Licensing Board

This page is for: 

Establishment and function

The Plumbers Licensing Board is established by Part 5A of the Plumbers Licensing Act 1995.  The Act vests the Board with four main functions:

  • To monitor matters relating to the qualification and training of plumbers.
  • To advise the Minister for Commerce on matters relating to the licensing and regulation of plumbers.
  • To administer the plumber licensing scheme.
  • To perform licensing and disciplinary functions.

The Board issues plumbing contractor and tradesperson licences to suitably qualified and experienced applicants, and through the services provided by Building and Energy, administers the licensing system and the disciplinary framework that applies to licensed plumbers in Western Australia.

The Board has been operating since 2000 and comprises a maximum of nine members appointed by the Minister for Commerce.  Members are appointed as experts in matters related to plumbing occupations and to represent consumer interests.  The Chairperson is independent of the plumbing industry.

Contact details

Office address

Plumbers Licensing Board
Building and Energy
Level 1, 303 Sevenoaks Street

Postal address

Plumbers Licensing Board
Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety
Building and Energy
Locked Bag 100

Tel: 1300 489 099
Fax: (+618) 6251 1501


The current Board membership is:

shona_zulsdorf.jpg, by sgrove

Shona Zulsdorf – Chair

Ms Shona Zulsdorf has been appointed to the Board as Chair. Shona has significant experience on boards and committees and has held executive and senior management positions in government departments, commercial agencies and Ministerial offices. Shona is currently Principal of Springboard Solutions, a board member of Helena College and an expert member of the Audit and Risk committee with the City of South Perth. Her qualifications include Master of Communication, BA(Hons), Graduate Diploma in Commerce and a Certificate in Board Governance.

Sonia McKeiver
Sonia McKeiver, by ebleakley

Sonia McKeiver – Deputy Chairperson

Ms Sonia McKeiver has been appointed to the Board to represent consumer interests and is experienced in compliance and corporate governance. Sonia has had previous investigatory and auditing roles with the Financial Ombudsman Service in Melbourne, the Financial Services Authority in London and the Office of the Auditor General in Perth. Her qualifications include a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Economics. Sonia has held previous board positions with the Small Business Development Corporation and Churchlands Primary School. Sonia currently manages compliance for a financial services business.

Mick Wynne
Mick Wynne, by sgrove

Michael Wynne

Mr Michael Wynne brings to the Board extensive experience and knowledge of the plumbing industry. He was previously President of the Master Plumbers Association of Western Australia, examiner for the Plumber’s Licensing Board of Western Australia, and member of the Australian Standards Steering Committee, reviewing the States by-laws.

brianbintley.jpg, by sgrove

Brian Bintley

Mr Brian Bintley brings to the Board a vast knowledge of the industry. He was previously Secretary of the Western Australian branch of the Plumbing Trades Employee Union.

Diane Massara
Diane Massara, by apage

Diane Massara

Ms Diane Massara has been appointed to the Board as a plumbing industry representative. Diane has metropolitan and regional plumbing experience and is a Justice of the Peace. Diane is a licenced plumbing contractor and has worked within the building industry for over 24 years. She is the proprietor of her own plumbing company.



murrarythomas1.png, by sgrove

Murray Thomas

Murray brings to the Board extensive experience and knowledge of the plumbing industry. Murray has been CEO of The Master Plumbers and Gasfitters Association of Western Australia (Union of Employers) (‘MPGA’) since 2007 and holds a current Western Australian Plumbing Contractor’s Licence. In 2006, he was a contributing author to Health Aspects of Plumbing, a book published by the World Health Organisation, with a technical article on the design of plumbing systems. In 2011, Murray became the first plumbing industry representative ever appointed to the Australian Building Codes Board. In 2016, he was appointed for a second five-year term.



Demissie Gladys
Demissie Gladys, by sgrove

Gladys Demissie

Ms. Gladys Demissie has been appointed to the Board as a consumer representative and brings a range of skills including administrative decision making and governance. Gladys worked in the Australian Taxation Office for over 30 years and in various areas of tax law and its administration. She holds a Bachelor of Business and Masters of Business Administration from Curtin University. Gladys is the current President of the St. Vincent De Paul Society of WA and chairs the State Council meetings. She is also a Board member of the Fremantle Biennale.


Current policies


Share this page:

Last modified: