Alert to Perth motorists - fill up now to beat the petrol price rise

This announcement is for: 
ConsumerMotor industry

Motorists in Perth and Mandurah are advised to fill up now if they need to, with petrol prices set to rise tomorrow. After today motorists will likely have to wait a week before petrol prices are again at the bottom of the price cycle.


FuelWatch reports that, from 6am tomorrow (Wednesday 3 July 2024), the average price of Perth’s regular unleaded petrol (ULP) will increase by over 35 cents per litre (cpl) to 205.3 cpl with Caltex hiking up to 223.9 cpl; Coles Express/Reddy Express up to 221.9 cpl; Ampol up to 220.9 cpl; EG Ampol, 7-Eleven and BP up to 219.9 cpl; Vibe up to 219.5 cpl; and United up to 199.9 cpl.


Despite the average hike tomorrow, there are still 31 individual sites offering prices below 170 cpl, so consumers should check the FuelWatch website to find the lowest price near them. Buying fuel from the cheapest site rather than the most expensive, a difference of 60 cpl, means motorists can potentially save $36 on a 60 litre tank.


Tuesday’s cheapest ULP is available for:

  • 165.9 cpl at Ampol Foodary Stratton and EG Ampol Brabham in the East;
  • 163.9 cpl at Ampol Foodary Melville and Ampol Foodary South Lake in the South; and
  • 163.9 cpl at Ampol Foodary Subiaco in the North.


Wednesday’s cheapest ULP will be available for:

  • 167.9 cpl at Shell High Wycombe in the East;
  • 163.7 cpl at Costco Casuarina (Costco sites are membership based) and Costco Perth Airport and 167.3 cpl at Vibe Byford in the South; and
  • 167.3 cpl at Burk Bassendean, Burk Landsdale and Burk Malaga in the North.


To find the cheapest fuel at any time, check the mobile compatible site which features an interactive map. After 2.30pm each day both today’s and tomorrow’s prices are available. Also, get a daily update by subscribing to free email alerts or phone 1300 30 40 54. If you want to understand more about how FuelWatch works, go to


Media Contact:

Consumer Protection
Media release
02 Jul 2024

Last modified: