Call for 2021 Consumer Protection Awards contenders, nominations now open

This announcement is for: 

Calling all contenders for the 2021 Consumer Protection Awards, we are now open for nominations.

Nominations can be for an individual or organisation that has contributed to raising community awareness of consumer rights and safety as an advocate, educator or in another relevant role, including within the media.

The 2020 winners were an Executive Director who oversees 28 community legal centres; a not-for-profit organisation specialising in homelessness services; a safe sleeping product aimed at saving babies lives and a regional journalist reporting on scams.

Winners of the 2021 Awards will be presented with a cash prize and a trophy by the Commerce Minister. Winners are further recognised with their names engraved on a perpetual shield.

There are four award categories:

  • Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project;
  • Kidsafe WA Award – focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children; and
  • Ruby Hutchison Award – for a journalist, producer, program or media outlet for raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer protection issues.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection Lanie Chopping said it was now time for those selfless people who work hard in the sector to stand up and be recognised.

“It’s a sector that normally attracts humble people who are doing extremely valuable work in supporting consumers and tenants in the community, many of whom are considered vulnerable.” Ms Chopping said.

“But this is the time to shrug off any humility and help us highlight the good work that is being done by numerous individuals and organisations in WA that offer advice, assistance and education, lobby for change, create a greater understanding of consumer law or promote safety products and campaigns.

“A new online submission portal this year makes it easy to enter so I would urge members of the community and media to visit the Consumer Protection website and nominate.”

Nominations can be completed via an online submission portal at and will close at 11.59pm on Monday 30 November 2020. Winners will be announced at a presentation luncheon on Tuesday 20 April 2020.


Media Contact: Alan Hynd, (08) 6552 9248 / 0429 078 791 / 

2021 Consumer Protection Awards
2021 Consumer Protection Awards, by ahynd
2021 Consumer Protection Awards


Consumer Protection
Media release
24 Sep 2020

Share this page:

Last modified: