Call to WA community for Consumer Protection Awards 2019 nominees

This announcement is for: 
ConsumerBusiness / company

Are you an individual or organisation that helps consumers or promotes their rights through education and advocacy?

If so, you are the type of person who is eligible to nominate for the Consumer Protection Awards 2019 with the chance of receiving a framed certificate and a cash prize.

With nominations now open, likely candidates or their nominators are urged to put in their submissions before the closing date of Friday, 16 November 2018.

The awards are split into four categories:

  • Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project;
  • Kidsafe WA Award which focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children; and
  • Ruby Hutchison Award to acknowledge a journalist, producer, program or media outlet for raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer/tenancy/product safety issues.

Last year’s winners were: Nanette Williams, former CEO of the Pilbara Community Legal Service; The Consumer Credit Legal Service of Western Australia; Nature Playgrounds; and Daniel Emerson, a former reporter for The West Australian newspaper, and Indigenous radio station Noongar Radio jointly won the media award.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection David Hillyard said the awards present a golden opportunity for people working in this area to have their tremendous efforts recognised.

“There are many individuals and organisations in the community who work tirelessly to assist consumers, including tenants, by providing them with advice, education and advocacy services,” Mr Hillyard said.

“We urge them to put in a nomination, or to nominate someone they believe is worthy of these awards, before the closing date.

“Included in the awards are those who are dedicated to improving product safety and for journalists, producers and media outlets who are crucial in our efforts to raise public awareness of consumer issues.”

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday 16 November 2018 and can be submitted online at Winners will be announced at a breakfast function at The University Club on Wednesday 6 March 2019. They will receive a cash prize, a plaque and framed certificate presented by the Minister for Commerce and Industrial Relations Bill Johnston. Winners are further recognised with their names engraved on a perpetual shield.


Media Contact: Alan Hynd, (08) 6552 9248 / 0429 078 791 /  

Consumer Protection
Media release
10 Sep 2018

Last modified: