Community call for Consumer Protection Award nominations

This announcement is for: 
ConsumerBusiness / companyNot for profit

Individuals and organisations in WA involved in promoting consumer and tenancy rights and providing community support are urged to submit a nomination for the Consumer Protection Awards 2017.

Nominations are now open for the awards which formally recognise the efforts of individuals, groups, businesses, advocates, local government and the media in educating the community about their rights and obligations as well as providing advice and assistance.

Acting Commissioner for Consumer Protection David Hillyard said the awards provide an opportunity to acknowledge the excellent work being done in this area.

“There is a great deal of hard work being carried out by various groups and individuals to improve understanding of consumer and tenancy laws and provide support for those in need,” Mr Hillyard said.

“A special product safety category also recognises those involved in improving safety in the home and in the community generally, and a media category recognises a journalist or outlet that has highlighted consumer or tenancy issues, raising public awareness.

“A community centre providing financial counselling to Indigenous consumers, a gas safety program for school children and a newspaper reporter who wrote articles on property spruikers were the worthy winners at the last awards ceremony. We are hoping to receive the same high calibre of entries for the 2017 awards.”

The categories are:

  • Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project;
  • Kidsafe WA Award which focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children and acknowledges an individual, local government, non-government organisation, business or group of individuals; and
  • Ruby Hutchison Award to acknowledge a journalist or media outlet for raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer issues.

“I urge people to nominate an individual or organisation who they believe are deserving of these awards and submit their nominations before the closing date,” Mr Hillyard said.

Nominations close at 5pm, Friday 18 November 2016 and can be submitted online at Winners will be announced at a breakfast function at The University Club on Wednesday 15 March 2017. They will receive a cash prize and a trophy, with their names to be engraved on a perpetual shield.


Media contact (Consumer Protection)

Consumer Protection
Media release
06 Sep 2016

Share this page:

Last modified: