Finalists announced for 10th Consumer Protection Awards

Finalists for the Consumer Protection Awards 2014 have been announced ahead of the 10th annual ceremony to recognise and celebrate community, local government and media contributions to consumer protection in Western Australia.

The judges carefully considered submissions from 22 nominees to come up with this shortlist:

Rona Okely Award (for individuals)

  • Gavan Forster of the Master Builders Association, WA has been raising awareness of consumer building issues via a Q&A newspaper column for more than 15 years.
  • Sandra Brown assisted consumers during her 18 years at the Citizens Advice Bureau and since retiring in 2011 has continued to give community talks about consumer and tenancy rights.

Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award (for organisations)

  • Advocare helps receivers of health and aged care services to know their rights and make necessary complaints.
  • Consumers' Association of WA is a non-profit, voluntary organisation which successfully campaigned for a product safety ban and the introduction of a service to tell car-buyers if there is any money owing on vehicles.
  • Consumer Credit Legal Service (WA) provides legal advice on consumer credit, banking and finance; particularly to those who are on a low income, vulnerable, disadvantaged or speak English as a second language.

Kidsafe WA Award (any contributor to advancement of injury prevention for children)

  • RAC bstreetsmart – a road safety initiative to reduce fatality and injury rates among young people.
  • Samantha Menezes petitioned for laws to prevent the supply of alcohol to minors without parental permission.

Media Award (for journalists and media outlets)

  • David Weber of ABC Radio has produced property scam and romance fraud stories.
  • Natalie Bonjolo from Today Tonight has exposed dodgy tradespeople and businesses.
  • Rashelle Predovnik at The Echo Newspaper reports on consumer affairs, including investigations into service providers and safety warnings for shoppers.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection Anne Driscoll is eagerly anticipating the presentation on 21 March 2014. 

She said: “I’d like to congratulate all of the finalists – it really is an accolade to get to this stage considering the calibre of the nominations. It is a milestone as we mark ten years of the Awards. I am very much looking forward to us once again acknowledging the outstanding efforts of consumer advocates.”

The Commissioner added that there is something new for this year.

“The Media Award is to be renamed the Ruby Hutchison Media Award in honour of the first woman elected to WA’s Legislative Council, who was key to establishing the Australian Consumer’s Association.”

Winners in each category will be announced to coincide with the Award’s lunch to be held on 21 March 2014.


Please note media invitations for the Consumer Protection Awards 2014 are available on request.

(Consumer Protection is a division of the Department of Commerce)

Follow us on Twitter: @ConsumerWA or like our Facebook page –

Media Contact:
Alina Cavanagh  9282 0679 or 0423-846397


Consumer Protection
Media release
10 Feb 2014

Share this page:

Last modified: