Nominations open for Consumer Protection Awards 2015

Nominations have now opened for the 2015 Consumer Protection Awards which publicly recognise those who promote consumer and tenants’ rights as well as product safety in the community.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection Anne Driscoll is urging West Australians to nominate individuals and organisations who they believe are making a valuable contribution in the area of consumer protection.

“Last year’s winners were involved in a diverse range of activities, including advocacy services for consumers and tenants, raising awareness of consumer issues and improving safety on our roads,” Ms Driscoll said.

“The Consumer Protection Awards provide an opportunity to highlight the outstanding work being done in the community to educate consumers and promote their interests, so I encourage people to come forward and nominate those they believe deserve public recognition for their efforts.”

There are four award categories for significant contributions to consumer protection in WA:

  • The Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • The Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project;
  • The Kidsafe WA Award which focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children and acknowledges an individual, local government, non-government organisation, business or group of individuals; and
  • The Ruby Hutchison Media Award which acknowledges an individual journalist or media outlet in raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer issues.

The winners will be announced at a special luncheon in March 2015 and all finalists will be invited. Winners will be recognised through cheques of up to $2,500 each, as well as a plaque, framed certificate presented by the Minister for Commerce and their name engraved on the perpetual shield.

To find out more about the award categories, download a nomination form or to nominate online, visit:  Nominations close at 5pm, Friday 28 November 2014.


Media contact (Consumer Protection)

Consumer Protection
Media release
11 Sep 2014

Share this page:

Last modified: