Searching for the next Consumer Protection Award winners

This announcement is for: 
Business / companyConsumer

The search has begun for the next winners of the Consumer Protection Awards with nominations now open.

Advocates of consumer and tenancy rights are encouraged to nominate whether as an individual, community group, local government authority or a media organisation.

Those who have been active in highlighting consumer and tenancy issues and providing community support, advice or education are eligible to enter the 2018 awards.

The categories are:

  • Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project;
  • Kidsafe WA Award which focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children; and
  • Ruby Hutchison Award to acknowledge a journalist or media outlet for raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer/tenancy/product safety issues.

Last year’s winners were: Karen Merrin who has managed the Northern Suburbs Community Legal Centre in Mirrabooka for the past 20 years; the Midland Information Debt and Legal Advocacy Service or Midlas which supports vulnerable, disabled and disadvantaged people by providing financial counselling and tenancy advocacy; Good Start Early Learning which focuses on the promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children; and the ABC’s national consumer affairs reporter Amy Bainbridge who produced a number of stories for the network’s TV, radio and digital platforms on issues which were of particular interest to WA consumers.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection David Hillyard said the awards recognise the tremendous efforts of many individuals and organisations that are involved in this area of endeavour.

“We are always amazed at the excellent work being carried out by a variety of people and groups who are dedicated to the cause of helping consumers or tenants or improving product safety,” Mr Hillyard said.

“We also acknowledge the media coverage that is devoted to highlighting these issues and the effect it has on raising public awareness and educating the community generally about their rights and obligations.

“I urge people to nominate an individual or organisation who they believe is deserving of these awards and submit their nominations before the closing date.”

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday 17 November 2017 and can be submitted online at Winners will be announced at a breakfast function at The University Club on Thursday 15 March 2018. They will receive a cash prize, a plaque and framed certificate presented by the Minister for Commerce and Industrial Relations Bill Johnston. Winners are further recognised with their names engraved on a perpetual shield.


Media Contact: Alan Hynd, (08) 6552 9248 / 0429 078 791 /  

Consumer Protection
Media release
11 Sep 2017

Share this page:

Last modified: