Time to nominate for Consumer Protection Awards

The WA community has its annual opportunity to nominate deserving candidates for a Consumer Protection Award, from now until the end of November 2015.

This is the 12th year that Consumer Protection will formally recognise those involved in consumer or tenant advocacy. Award categories acknowledging the promotion of product safety in the WA marketplace and journalism that raises awareness of consumer issues have also been included for a number of years.

Acting Commissioner for Consumer Protection Gary Newcombe says it is important to highlight the excellent work being done on behalf of Western Australians.

“If you know of an individual or organisation deserving public recognition please take the time to complete an online nomination at www.commerce.wa.gov.au/cpawards.

“The last awards ceremony showed the varied contributions worthy of the four accolades available. Winners were a community legal centre worker, an aged care advocacy group, Surf Life Saving WA for a campaign to prevent drowning deaths, an investigative journalist from Channel Nine for reports about various scams and the producer of an 720 ABC Perth radio program about consumer issues.”

The categories are, the:

  • Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project;
  • Kidsafe WA Award which focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children and acknowledges an individual, local government, non-government organisation, business or group of individuals; and
  • Ruby Hutchison Award to acknowledge a journalist or media outlet for raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer issues.

All finalists will be invited to a breakfast in March 2016 where the Minister for Commerce will announce the winners and reward them with a cash prize and a trophy. Winners’ names will also be engraved on a perpetual shield. Nominations close at 5pm, Friday 27 November 2015.

Media contact (Consumer Protection)

Consumer Protection
Media release
08 Sep 2015

Share this page:

Last modified: