Time to stand up and be recognised in Consumer Protection Awards

This announcement is for: 
  • Nominations now open for 2022 awards
  • Appeal to consumer rights’ educators and advocates, including the media
  • Eligible individuals and organisations urged to submit a nomination

The search has begun among advocates and promoters of consumer rights in WA for potential contenders, as nominations open for the 2022 Consumer Protection Awards.

Nominations are invited for an individual or organisation that has contributed to raising community awareness of consumer rights, or has highlighted safety issues, as an advocate, support provider, educator, member of the media or any other relevant role.

Nominees have the chance to join a highly distinguished group of people and organisations that took out the 2021 accolades. They included a women’s legal service, an advocate for additive free food, a pool safety ambassador and a television reporter who investigated the tow truck industry.

Winners of the 2022 Awards will be presented with a cash prize and a trophy by the Commerce Minister and are further recognised with their names engraved on a perpetual shield.

There are four award categories:

  • Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project;
  • Kidsafe WA Award – focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children; and
  • Ruby Hutchison Award – for a journalist, producer, program or media outlet for raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer protection issues.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection Gary Newcombe said the awards provide a golden opportunity for people working in this space to shine.

“There is a vast army of people in the community who dedicate their lives to assisting consumers and tenants and this is a time their enormous efforts are recognised and celebrated,” Mr Newcombe said.

“The awards shine a spotlight on the great work being carried out in the community in this field whether it is offering advice, assistance and education; lobbying for change; creating a greater understanding of consumer law; promoting safety products; or highlighting consumer issues generally.

“I urge eligible individuals and organisations to step forward and lodge an online application before the closing date. If you know someone else who you think is deserving of one of these awards, please take the initiative and nominate them.”

Nominations can be completed via an online submission portal on the Consumer Protection website and will close at 11.59pm on Friday, 29 October 2021. Winners will be announced at a presentation luncheon in March 2022.


Media Contact: Alan Hynd, (08) 6552 9248 / 0429 078 791 / alan.hynd@dmirs.wa.gov.au  

Consumer Protection Awards 2022 graphic
Consumer Protection Awards 2022 graphic, by ahynd


Consumer Protection
Media release
04 Aug 2021

Share this page:

Last modified: