Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards winners announced

This announcement is for: 
EmployerEmployee / worker

The seven winners of the Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards 2023 were announced at Optus Stadium this morning.

The prestigious Awards recognise outstanding innovations and solutions to specific workplace health and safety issues by individuals, groups or organisations.

This year’s winners are:

  • Work health and safety invention of the year – Wallis Drilling Pty Ltd for the Aircore automated rod handling system that eliminates the manual handling of drill rods.
  • Best solution to a work health and safety risk (199 or less employees) – Epigroup for their Alter Ergo service that helps prevent musculoskeletal disorders using 3D modelling and motion sensors to better manage tasks.
  • Best solution to a work health and safety risk (200 or more employees) – City of Canning for the LBin tail lift platform at their waste transfer station that provides a safe work area between a truck and the waste disposal edge.
  • Best intervention to address a psychosocial hazard in the workplace – Town of Port Hedland for reducing the impact of antisocial behaviour and psychosocial hazards with a suite of initiatives.
  • Leadership excellence (199 or less employees) – Macco Feeds for implementing work health and safety improvements including the redesign and application of a comprehensive safety management system specific to their business.
  • Leadership excellence (200 or more employees) – Good Sammy Enterprises for safety management initiatives designed specifically for their workplace and staff requirements.
  • Health and safety representative of the year – Rob Curtis of St John Western Australia for effectively advocating for the health and safety of his fellow workers, including championing numerous safety initiatives applied across St John.

Acting WorkSafe Commissioner Sally North congratulated the Award winners on their commitment to workplace health and safety.

“My sincere congratulations to all the Award winners on your commitment to the health and safety of all Western Australian workers,” Ms North said.

“This year’s winners were chosen from a group of 25 excellent finalists that were in turn chosen from a pool of 65 impressive nominations.

“These Awards recognise outstanding health and safety management, solutions and innovations in workplaces across both resources and general industries.

“This year’s finalists have been of a very high standard to which all workplaces can aspire, and I encourage anyone who has an interest in workplace health and safety to begin considering a nomination for next year’s Awards.”

Media Contact: Caroline De Vaney, 6251 2363 or 0408 927563.

Follow @WorkSafeWA on Twitter (X)


Media release
27 Oct 2023

Last modified: