2021 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards

Submissions to the  2021 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards are now open.  These awards recognise outstanding solutions and innovations to specific workplace health and safety problems in Western Australia. 

For the purpose of these awards, “innovation” is broadly defined as either a new initiative or an original solution to a specific health and safety problem. 

The Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards is an amalgamation and replacement of the Safety and Health Resources Sector Awards and the Work Safety Awards.

What are the key dates?

Date Action
16 March 2021 Nominations open
4 June 2021 Entries close
August 2021 Finalists notified
October 2021 Winners announced at awards ceremony


How do I enter? 

Step one

Entries must be received by 5.00pm 4 June 2021.  For reasons of fairness late applications will not be accepted.

Step two

Select an award category; nominate the category which best suits.  This may include whether you are a small to medium organisation or a large organisation. 

Small to medium organisation is defined as an actively trading business with 199 employees or less.

Large organisation is defined as an actively trading business with 200 employees or more. 

Read through the judging criteria to find out what you need to include in your submission.

For more information contact safetyawards@dmirs.wa.gov.au or 1300 307 877

Please note the same nominations cannot be submitted under more than one category.  However, the award judges may at their discretion amend the category under which a nomination is considered.

Step three

Check that you are eligible to enter the Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards.  Read through the terms and conditions of entry 

Use the online form to complete the process.  All entries must be submitted by 5.00pm Friday 4 June 2021.

For promotional purposes, include in your submission a:

  • copy of your organisation’s logo;
  • four high resolution photographs representing your submission;
  • 200 word summary of your submission for use in DMIRS publications and website. 

Should you be selected as a finalist, you may be required to provide additional high resolution images to be used in DMIRS publications.

If you experience any problems with the nomination form please contact safetyawards@dmirs.wa.gov.au or 1300 307 877

What is the assessment and judging process?

Preliminary judging round

  • The preliminary judging round will be undertaken in June/July 2021.
  • All entries will be assessed by the judging panel based on the information provided in the submission.
  • A shortlist of finalists will be compiled and those entries will proceed to the final judging round as finalists.
  • All finalists will be notified in August 2021.
  • Judges decisions are final and no further correspondence will be undertaken.

Final judging round

  • In the final judging round, a panel of experts will assess the submissions based on the information provided.
  • Those being considered for an award may be required to participate in an interview and may need to be involved in a site validation.
  • Judges decisions are final and no further correspondence will be undertaken.

Award categories

  • Work health and safety invention of the year - recognises development of plant/equipment engineering and/or infrastructure to enhance health and safety. 
  • Best solution to a work health and safety risk – recognises innovation, implementation and/or design of systems or procedures to improve health and safety.
  • Best workplace health and wellbeing initiative – recognises an organisations commitment to the health and wellbeing of their workforce.
  • Leadership excellence award – recognises an organisations excellence in leadership in improving health and safety in the workplace. 
  • Safety and health representative of the year – recognises an elected safety and health representative who has made a significant contribution and demonstrable difference to safety and health in the workplace.

Download a full list of category criteria

Further information

Are you ready to submit an entry?

Remember entries close 4 June 2021 ensure you read the category criteria and terms and conditions.

Nominate now! 


Share this page:

Last modified: