2022 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards finalists

This year 77 submissions were received with 36 companies recognised as finalists.  

Work health and safety invention of the year 

199 employees or less

  • Engentus Pty Ltd – TopTorque precision reactionless bolting system
  • Heat Trap Solutions – Water cooled heat stress vests
  • RM Surveys – New observations of hazards and risk management (NOHARM)
  • Yurra Pty Ltd – The process playbook

200 employees or more

  • Barminco – Re-design of steel bollards for the prevention of inadvertent machine access to open holes
  • BHP – Thermal lance feeder
  • BHP and Epiroc – Improving safety in grade control through the innovative use of the blast hole assay tool (FastGrade)
  • Ranger Drilling – The sample chute
  • Rio Tinto – Remote operated rescue initiative (R.O.R.I.)
  • Rio Tinto and Weir ESCO – GET handling and changing project

Best solution to a work health and safety risk

199 employees or less

  • Arexion Pty Ltd – Asbestos sheet removal / extraction / lifting tool
  • Built Pty Ltd and Raw Civil – Wet cropping solution on foundation piles
  • Cortex Intelligence Systems – Cortex: Delivering the game
  • Fenix Newhaul – Measuring force applied to the body in the transport industry
  • GCG Health and Safety Hygiene – Real-time monitoring (RTM) app
  • Hero Engineering – Mine winders risk reduction with improved operational efficiency
  • MiCone Australia Pty Ltd – The future in delineation
  • Nexxis – Magneto

200 employees or more

  • Alcoa – Elimination not prevention of risk
  • BHP – BOS standardised work @ BHP
  • Fortescue Metals Group – Aircraft towable conveyor belt
  • Newmont Boddington Gold – Wireless blast initiation technology (WebGen™): Safe efficient and productive blasting
  • Monadelphous – Ergonomic poly weld stands

Best intervention to address a psychosocial hazard in the workplace


  • City of Rockingham – CORE Wellness
  • Kmart – Recognise, React, Refer
  • Lifeline WA – Resourceful mind 

Leadership excellence award


  • Al-Ameen College – Work health and safety campaign
  • BHP – Taxonomy program
  • Brownes Dairy – Think safe, B-safe
  • Crime Stoppers WA and Piper Alderman – Safe2Say

Health and safety representative of the year 


  • Tony Booth – Cecil Andrews College
  • Darcy Connolly – East Metropolitan Health Services
  • Nathan Dearing – Joondalup Resort
  • Mary Koutalis – BHP
  • Robert Nankivell – BHP
  • Kevin O’Gorman – RAAFAWA-Gordon Lodge Resident Care

Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards Register now to attend this year’s award ceremony 

Share this page:

Last modified: