Commissioner's Blog: Your chance to reward community advocates

This announcement is for: 

With Acting Commissioner for Consumer Protection, David Hillyard

Do you know of an individual or organisation doing great work to help consumers or tenants, or promote product safety in WA? You can now recognise their efforts by nominating for the Consumer Protection Awards 2017.

The awards are open to individuals, non-profit groups, businesses, and local government organisations, plus there's a media category to recognise a journalist or outlet that has been raising public awareness of consumer, tenancy or product safety issues and rights.

The annual accolades are a fantastic opportunity to thank committed people or organisations providing vital advice, support and assistance in our communities.

I am privileged to have been able to attend these awards ceremonies over the last 12 years and apart from it being a humbling experience I have seen firsthand how much the peer recognition means to finalists and winners. It is an excellent way to reward and highlight their hard work and significant contributions.

At the 2016 awards, the worthy winners were: a community centre providing financial counselling to Aboriginal consumers; a gas safety program for school children; and a newspaper reporter who wrote articles on property spruikers. We are hoping to receive the same high calibre of entries for the 2017 awards.

The online nomination process is simple and doesn’t take long. Just head to The categories are:

  • Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience for the betterment of others;
  • Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group of individuals for their services, initiative or project to advance consumer protection in their community;
  • Kidsafe WA Award which focuses on promotion of product safety and injury prevention for children and acknowledges an individual, local government, non-government organisation, business or group of individuals; and
  • Ruby Hutchison Award to acknowledge a journalist or media outlet for raising awareness and improving understanding of consumer or tenant issues.


So, if you believe there’s someone who deserves acknowledgement, nominate at You’ve got until 5pm, Friday 18 November 2016 to make a submission. Winners announced at a breakfast function on Wednesday 15 March 2017 will receive a cash prize, a trophy and have their names engraved on a perpetual shield.

Follow the lead-up to the event and results on the day using the hashtag #cpawards2017 on Twitter or Facebook.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection David Hillyard
Commissioner for Consumer Protection David Hillyard, by CP Media
David Hillyard, Acting Commissioner, by CP Media


Consumer Protection
Department News
20 Oct 2016

Last modified: