Nominate a community champion for Consumer Protection Awards

This announcement is for: 
  • Nominations now open for 2024 Consumer Protection Awards
  • Seeking consumer rights educators and advocates, including the media
  • Individuals, organisations and groups urged to submit a nomination

The search is on for outstanding individuals, organisations, groups and the media who advocate for and promote consumer rights in WA, with nominations open for the prestigious 20th anniversary Consumer Protection Awards.

Cash prizes of $2,500, a trophy and a certificate will be awarded in each category, presented by Commerce Minister Sue Ellery on World Consumer Rights Day – 15 March 2024.

The awards aim to celebrate community champions in the consumer protection space that have contributed to injury prevention for children by promoting safe product use; provided education on tenancy matters, scams, debt management or contracts; developed promotional and educational programs to raise awareness of consumer rights; improved complaints handling or dispute resolution processes; undertaken research or policy changes to benefit consumers or advocated for disadvantaged or vulnerable consumers.

Nominees will join a distinguished group of people as part of the celebrations including the 2022 winners – a financial counsellor from a non-profit legal centre, a group that created a free online resource to support and educate women at risk of family and domestic violent or financial abuse, a community-based group providing education to create safer communities for children and a regional journalist who reported on fraudulent practices of an Aboriginal funeral insurance business.

There are four award categories:

  • Rona Okely Award – for an individual who has given their time, energy and experience to influence and inspire consumer protection in their community
  • Richard (Dick) Fletcher Award – for a local government, non-government organisation or group that has delivered services, initiatives or projects with the aim to build community awareness of consumer protection issues
  • Kidsafe WA Award – for an individual, local government, non-government organisation, business or group that focuses on raising awareness of product safety and injury prevention for children
  • Ruby Hutchison Media Award – for a journalist, producer, program or media outlet that raises awareness and boosts understanding of consumer protection issues.

Commissioner for Consumer Protection Trish Blake urges the WA community to take the time to nominate a worthy individual or organisation that is deserving of recognition.   

“We want to acknowledge amazing people who make it their mission to spread awareness about consumer rights and issues by offering advice, assistance and education; lobbying for change; creating a greater understanding of consumer law and promoting product safety,” Ms Blake said.

“You can also nominate yourself, your business or your group if you are doing some incredible and inspiring work throughout the state to positively impact the community.”

Nominations can be completed on the Consumer Protection Awards website and will close on Monday, 30 October 2023.



Media Contact: Jasmine Sidhu, (08) 6552 9248 / 0429 078 791 /  

2024CP_Awards_landscape, by Jsidhu

Consumer Protection Awards 2024


Consumer Protection
Media release
17 Aug 2023

Last modified: