Building Services Board


Part 7 of the Building Services (Registration) Act 2011 provides for the establishment and powers of the Building Services Board.

The Board consists of the following members appointed by the Minister:

  • A member designated by the Minister as chairperson of the Board.
  • A member designated by the Minister as deputy chairperson of the Board.
  • Two members, each of whom has knowledge of and experience in representing the interests of consumers.
  • Two members for each occupation group who have experience as a registered building service provider in a class comprising that group.

The Board meets regularly and may appoint committees from time to time to assist it to perform its functions.


The Board consists of a chairperson and members representing the interests of consumers and occupation groups. The members of the Board are appointed by the Minister for Commerce. They are:

Venetia Bennett – BSB Chair 2021
Venetia Bennett – BSB Chair 2021, by jdacosta

Venetia Bennett – Chair

Venetia Bennett has been appointed to the Board as Chair. Ms Bennett is a senior commercial lawyer experienced in providing strategic advice to Australian and international organisations in complex, high-value disputes, predominantly in the construction, resources and sports industries. Ms Bennett has over 10 years of board and committee experience, including serving as President of the Australian and New Zealand Sports Law Association between 2012 and 2018, and she has chaired numerous disciplinary, grievance and appeals tribunal hearings. In 2020, she was appointed an inaugural member of the National Sports Tribunal. Ms Bennett’s qualifications include a Master of Laws and Master of Business (Sport Management), and she is a graduate and active member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Laurie Kruize
Laurie Kruize, by sgrove

Laurie Kruize – Building representative

Laurie Kruize has been appointed to the Board as a person with knowledge and experience of the building industry. He is a registered builder and brings to the Board a broad experience and understanding of the Training Reform Agenda and a strong housing industry employment background.






Helmut Schwanke
Helmut Schwanke, by sgrove

Helmut Schwanke – Building surveyor representative (Deputy Chairperson)

Helmut Schwanke has been appointed to the Board as a person with knowledge and experience of the building surveying industry. He is Director of Fire Safety Solutions Pty Ltd and Schwanke Consulting and a qualified fire safety engineer and building surveyor. Mr Schwanke has also worked in local and state government. He has extensive experience with the application of building regulations including assessment of alternative solutions under the National Construction Code.





Faye Stewart
Faye Stewart, by sgrove


Faye Stewart – Painting and decorating representative

Faye Stewart has been appointed to the Board as a person with broad knowledge and experience within the painting and decorating industry.


jo_motteran.jpg, by sgrove

Joanne Motteram – Consumer representative

Joanne Motteram has been appointed to the Board to represent the interests of consumers. Ms Motteram has a Master of Criminal Justice degree. Since 2000 she has gained substantial experience representing community and consumer interests on boards and committees.










Jack Mast
Jack Mast, by ebleakley

Jack Mast – Painting and decorating representative

Jack Mast has been appointed to the Board as a person with more than 40 years of knowledge and experience in the painting and decorating industry. Mr Mast represents the industry as a member of the Master Painters and Decorators Australia (MPDA) Executive Committee and a Director of MPA Skills. Past positions held by Mr Mast include MPA Skills Chairman, MPDA President, Vice President and Immediate Past President and Painters Registration Board member. Mr Mast is the Director of a prominent group of retail painting stores and the WA Zone Director for the company.




serena_giudice.jpg, by sgrove

Serena Giudice – Building representative

Ms Serena Giudice has been appointed to the Board as a person with knowledge and experience of the building industry. She is a registered building practitioner based in Geraldton. Ms Giudice won the Master Builders Association National Young Builder of the Year award in 2014, becoming the first woman to do so. She has over 20 years’ experience in the building industry.

deborah_smith.jpg, by sgrove

Deborah Smith – Consumer representative

Deborah has been a Non-Executive Director for over seven years and is a member of Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD). In 2016 Deborah graduated from the AICD Company Directors Course with an Order of Merit. Deborah is also an Australian Chartered Accountant with over 20 years’ experience gained at blue chip, listed companies and smaller organisations, including seven years of international experience in London and six years’ West African experience. Her strong financial acumen, excellent understanding of strategy and good corporate governance are three of the key attributes she brings to her directorship roles.

angelabsbresize.jpg, by sgrove

Angela Lefante – Building surveyor representative

Angela Lefante is a registered Level 1 Building surveying practitioner and Coordinator Building Services for the City of Swan. Angela has over 12 years' industry experience working with legislation, building approval processes and in enforcement. She brings valuable building surveying knowledge to the Board



Share this page:

Last modified: