Electrical Licensing Board


The Electrical Licensing Board is constituted under provisions of the Electricity (Licensing) Regulations 1991.

Its primary function is to determine the competence of applicants for, and holders of, electrical licences and permits issued under the licensing regulations.

The board represents the interests of users (consumers) of electrical services, either through the use of electrical contractors or through the direct employment of electricians. The constitution of the Board balances the interests of traditional electrical industry stakeholders and those of consumers.

The board consists of eight members appointed by the Minister for Commerce as follows:

  • an independent chairman with management and technical experience in the electrical industry;
  • a nominee from bodies representing the interests of electrical workers;
  • a nominee from bodies representing the interests of electrical contractors;
  • a nominee from bodies representing the interests of electrical workers with restricted licences;
  • a nominee from bodies representing the interests of large businesses, who are consumers of electrical services;
  • a nominee from bodies representing the interests of small businesses, who are consumers of electrical services;
  • a residential consumer of electrical services; and
  • a representative of the Director of Energy Safety.


The current members of the Electrical Licensing Board are:

Peter Beverage – Chair

First appointed to the Board in 2005, he has made significant contributions in representing the interests of electrical contractors. Mr Beveridge has over 36 years of experience in representing the electrical industry on various forums and councils. He is Director of Williams Electrical Service and President of the boards for the Electrical and Communications Association of Western Australia (ECA WA) and National Electrical Contractors Association WA Chapter (NECA WA).

Peter Carter – Licenced electrical workers representative

Mr Peter Carter is the State Secretary for the Electrical Trades Union (ETU) of WA and is the ETU national, divisional and Executive Councillor. He brings over 35 years of experience in the electrical industry and has worked on various industrial, mining and commercial projects since gaining his A grade licence in 1986.

Geoffrey Kelly – Electrical workers with restricted licences representative

Mr Geoffrey Kelly was first appointed to the Board in 2013. He is currently the Director of the Master Plumbers and Gasfitters Association (MPA) of Australia, former president of MPA WA and Director of Kelly’s Hot Water, Gas and Air. He is a valuable member of the Board having held a restricted electrical licence since 1997.

Christopher Sweeting – Electrical contractors representative

Mr Christopher Sweeting has over 30 years of experience in the electrical industry. Currently, he is a member of the board for the ECA WA and Vice President of NECA WA. He is the electrical nominee and Director for Westwide Electrical Services, and has worked voluntarily with the College of Electrical Training and the Electrical Training Group Ltd boards.

Momcilo Andric – Consumers (large electrical businesses) representative

Mr Momcilo Andric was first appointed to the Board in 2013 and has over 30 years of experience in the electrical industry. He is an electrical engineer currently working as a General Manager at Rio Tinto Iron Ore. He has been involved in various mining projects and is a representative on the Chamber of Minerals and Energy, Energy Reference Group.

Natalia Kostecki-Baranski – Consumers (small electrical businesses) representative

Dr Natalia Kostecki-Baranski is the Principal Policy and Market Development Analyst at the Australian Energy Market Operator. Her current work in the electricity industry includes the provision of subject matter expertise for the development of operational and regulatory frameworks to support the integration of distributed energy resources, reforms to the power system and Wholesale Electricity Market in the South West Interconnected System, and reforms to the Pilbara interconnected system. Dr Kostecki-Baranski also has previous board experience on the Taxi Industry Board.

Fiona McGaughey – Consumers representative 

Dr Fiona McGaughey is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Western Australia (UWA) Law School. She is co-convenor of the interdisciplinary UWA Modern Slavery Research Cluster. Dr McGaughey brings many years’ of governance experience including her current membership of the Law Council of Australia’s Business and Human Rights Committee and UWA’s Academic Board. She has also previously been a (voluntary) Board member of a Community Legal Centre and the Australian Council for State Schools Organisations as well as serving on other Boards and Advisory Groups both in Ireland and Australia.

Melissa Mammone – Representative for the Director of Energy Safety

Ms Melissa Mammone is currently employed by the Building and Energy Division of the Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety. She is a Chartered Accountant and brings with her experience as the Executive Officer for both the Building Services Board and the Plumbers Licensing Board and as Treasurer for the Pickering Brook Catholic Church Committee.


Share this page:

Last modified: