National Construction Code

The National Construction Code (NCC) is an initiative of the Council of Australian Governments, developed to incorporate all on-site construction requirements into a single code.

The NCC is produced and maintained by the Australian Building Codes Board (ABCB) on behalf of the Australian Government and each State and Territory government and is given legal effect through State and Territory, or other statutory authority, building and plumbing legislation.

The NCC is a uniform set of technical provisions for the design and construction of buildings and other structures, and plumbing and drainage systems throughout Australia. It allows for variations in climate and geological or geographic conditions.

The NCC is drafted in a performance format allowing a choice of Deemed-to-Satisfy Solutions or flexibility to develop Performance Solutions based on existing or new innovative building, plumbing and drainage products, systems and designs.

The goal of the NCC is to enable the achievement of nationally consistent, minimum necessary standards of relevant safety (including structural safety and safety from fire), health, amenity and sustainability objectives efficiently.

The NCC is published in three volumes. The Building Code of Australia (BCA) is Volume One and Volume Two of the NCC and the Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA) is Volume Three of the NCC.

Volume One contains the requirements for:

(a) all Class 2 to 9 buildings;
(b) access requirements for people with a disability in Class 1b and 10a buildings; and
(c) certain Class 10b structures including access requirements for people with a disability in Class 10b swimming pools.

Volume Two contains the requirements for:

(a) Class 1 and 10a buildings (other than access requirements for people with a disability in Class 1b and 10a buildings);
(b) certain Class 10b structures (other than access requirements for people with a disability in Class 10b swimming pools); and
(c) Class 10c private bushfire shelters.

Volume Three contains the requirements for plumbing and drainage associated with all classes of buildings.

Note: The Plumbers Licensing and Plumbing Standards Regulations 2000 (Plumbing Regulations) prescribe the plumbing standards that apply in Western Australia. The plumbing standards that apply are the parts of the PCA that relate to:

i. water supply plumbing or water supply plumbing work; or
ii. sanitary plumbing or sanitary plumbing work; or
iii. drainage plumbing or drainage plumbing work;

as defined in regulation 48 of the Plumbing Regulations.

Downloading the National Construction Code

To download a free a copy of the NCC visit the ABCB website.

The NCC is reviewed and amended every three years incorporating any updated references, information or new references.

The NCC has resources created to make the code easier to understand and apply.  These resources are available from the ABCB website at

For information about compliance with the BCA for a specific project or building, please contact a registered building surveyor.  To view a list of registered building surveyors visit Find a registered building service provider.

Last modified: