Petroleum and geothermal energy safety levies

A safety levy is payable by the registered operator in respect of a licence or permit area for which there is a safety system in force for a petroleum and geothermal energy operation for the whole or part of a levy period.

Refer to:

Safety levy periods

Levies are charged on a quarterly basis from the date the safety system is in force (i.e. the date on which the safety system is accepted by the regulator) until such time the petroleum and geothermal energy operations cease.

Safety levy classification

The Chief Inspector Petroleum Safety is responsible for classifying the safety system for the purposes of assessing the levy amount for the levy period. There are 6 different classes of safety system included in the Petroleum and Geothermal Energy Safety Levies Regulations.

The safety levy classification process involves an assessment of the hazards and risks associated with operation, taking into consideration the level of complexity, circumstances and control measures in place in connection with the safety system.

Once a safety system has been accepted, a safety levy classification is put in place for the current quarterly period. The classification is given to the operator in writing.

The levies are payable to the Department of Energy, Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety.


Last modified: