Public holidays in Western Australia

This page is for: 
Employee / workerEmployer

Public holidays in Western Australia - 2014 to 2016

  2014 2015 2016
New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January Thursday 1 January Friday 1 January
Australia Day Monday 27 January Monday 26 January Tuesday 26 January
Labour Day Monday 3 March Monday 2 March Monday 7 March
Good Friday Friday 18 April Friday 3 April Friday 25 March
Easter Monday Monday 21 April Monday 6 April Monday 28 March
ANZAC Day Friday 25 April Saturday 25 April
Monday 27 April
Monday 25 April
Western Australia Day Monday 2 June Monday 1 June Monday 6 June
Queen's Birthday # Monday 29 September Monday 28 September Monday 26 September
Christmas Day Thursday 25 December Friday 25 December Sunday 25 December
Monday 26 December
Boxing Day Friday 26 December Saturday 26 December
Monday 28 December
Monday 26 December
Tuesday 27 December

 

  • When New Year’s Day, Anzac Day, or Christmas Day falls on a Saturday or Sunday the next following Monday is also a public holiday. 
  • When Boxing Day falls on a Saturday the next following Monday is also a public holiday, and when Boxing Day falls on a Sunday or Monday the next following Tuesday is also a public holiday. 

 

Some regional areas in WA hold the Queen's Birthday public holiday on a different date - view the dates for 2014

School term and school holiday dates for WA are on the Department of Education website

Earlier dates for public holidays can be found on the Previous years public holiday dates page.  

 

Employment entitlements for public holidays

Employment entitlements for public holidays will vary based on an employee's award coverage and employment arrangements. 

  • This website has information on pay and entitlements for public holidays for WA state system employers and employees
  • National system employers and employees should visit the Fair Work Ombudsman website www.fairwork.wa.gov.au

 

Share this page:

Last modified: