2023 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards

Submissions for the 2023 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards are now open.  These awards recognise outstanding solutions and innovations to specific workplace health and safety problems in Western Australia. 

For the purpose of these awards, 'innovation' is broadly defined as either a new initiative or an original solution to a specific health and safety problem. 

Submit your application online Click here to make your submission. Applications need to be submitted by 30 May 2023

What are the key dates?

Date Action
28 February 2023 Nominations open
30 May 2023 Nominations close
August/September 2023 Finalists notified
October 2023 Winners announced at awards ceremony

What is the assessment and judging process?

Preliminary judging round

  • The preliminary judging round will be undertaken in June/July 2023.
  • All entries will be assessed by the judging panel based on the information provided in the submission.
  • A shortlist of finalists will be compiled and those entries will proceed to the final judging round as finalists.
  • All finalists will be notified in August/September 2023.
  • Judges decisions are final and no further correspondence will be undertaken.

Final judging round

  • In the final judging round, a panel of experts will assess the submissions based on the information provided.
  • Those being considered for an award may be required to participate in an interview and may need to be involved in a site validation.
  • Judges decisions are final and no further correspondence will be undertaken.
  • Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony in October 2023.

Award categories

  • Work health and safety invention of the year - recognises development of plant/equipment engineering and/or infrastructure to enhance health and safety. 
  • Best solution to a work health and safety risk – recognises innovation, implementation and/or design of systems or procedures to improve health and safety.
  • Best intervention to address a psychosocial hazard in the workplace – recognises an organisation’s commitment to the prevention of psychosocial hazards in the workplace.
  • Leadership excellence award – recognises an organisations excellence in leadership in improving health and safety in the workplace. 
  • Health and safety representative of the year – recognises an elected health and safety representative who has made a significant contribution and demonstrable difference to health and safety in the workplace.

Need more information?

Use this document to find essential information to assist you with your Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards submission.  

Download the Work health and safety excellence awards 2023 - nomination submission information

Further information

For more information please contact safetyawards@dmirs.wa.gov.au or 1300 307 877

Share this page:

Last modified: