2023 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards Finalists

Submissions for the 2023 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards are now closed.  

This year 65 submissions were received with 25 companies recognised as finalists.

These awards recognise outstanding solutions and innovations to specific workplace health and safety problems in Western Australia.

The Department congratulates the finalists and thanks all entrants. We look forward to announcing the winners at the 2023 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards ceremony on Friday 27 October at Optus Stadium.

Subscribe to our News Alerts for updates and to find out when event registrations open.

Work health and safety invention of the year


  • Carey Mining Pty Ltd – Sunrise Dam Gold Mine
  • Data Station Pty Ltd – Quick response codes
  • Hydratune Pty Ltd – SafeAdjust
  • Rigsafe Lifting Solutions – Americold High Bay Cold Storage Facility 
  • Wallis Drilling Pty Ltd – Aircore automated rod handling system

Best solution to a work health and safety risk 

199 employees or less

  • Co Connect App – Camp Connect Workforce app
  • Epigroup – Alter Ergo
  • Monford Group – Solar farm project

200 employees or more

  • City of Canning – LBin tail lift platform at the Resource and Recovery Waste Transfer Station
  • Edith Cowan University – Immersive Violence and Aggression De-escalation Experience (IVADE) 
  • Mineral Resources – Health clinic

Best intervention to address a psychosocial hazard in the workplace


  • East Metropolitan Health Service, WA Health, Royal Perth Bentley Group, RPH Emergency Department – MAKESpace
  • FIFO Focus – Psychosocial Risk Management Capability Enhancement Program
  • Town of Port Hedland – Reducing the impact of anti-social behaviours and psychosocial related hazards to staff and the public
  • Water Corporation – Mental Health Champions

Leadership excellence award 

199 employees or less

  • Macco Feeds – Implementing work health and safety
  • Pirkx Australia – Pirkx meaningful support in the workplace

200 employees or more

  • Curtin University – Leadership health and wellbeing project
  • East Metropolitan Health Service, WA Health, Armadale Kalamunda Group – EMHS Wellbeing Support Program, Armadale Health Service Emergency Department
  • EDL Energy – Safety Leadership Working Group as a force for real change at Maitland LNG
  • Good Sammy Enterprises – Safety management

Health and safety representative of the year 


  • Ceinwyn Kent and Scott Turner – Armadale Health Service Emergency Department
  • Dana Steddy, Jen Byrne, Tina Tuira-Waldon, Sharon Ruakere – Department of Justice, Banksia Hill Detention Centre
  • Robert Nankivell – BHP Newman West Operations
  • Rob Curtis – St John Western Australia

Further information

For more information please contact safetyawards@dmirs.wa.gov.au or 1300 307 877

Book to attendClick to book to attend the 2023 Work Health and Safety Excellence Awards ceremony




Share this page:

Last modified: