Public holidays in Western Australia

This page is for: 
Employee / workerEmployer

Public holidays in Western Australia - 2020 to 2022

  2020 2021 2022
New Year's Day Wednesday 1 January Friday 1 January Saturday 1 January &
Monday 3 January
Australia Day Monday 27 January Tuesday 26 January Wednesday 26 January
Labour Day Monday 2 March Monday 1 March  Monday 7 March
Good Friday Friday 10 April Friday 2 April Friday 15 April
Easter Monday Monday 13 April Monday 5 April  Monday 18 April
Anzac Day Saturday 25 April &
Monday 27 April
Sunday 25 April &
Monday 26 April
Monday 25 April
Western Australia Day Monday 1 June Monday 7 June Monday 6 June
Queen's Birthday # Monday 28 September Monday 27 September Monday 26 September
Christmas Day Friday 25 December Saturday 25 December &
Monday 27 December
Sunday 25 December &
Monday 26 December*
Boxing Day Saturday 26 December &
Monday 28 December
Sunday 26 December &
Tuesday 28 December
Monday 26 December &
Tuesday 27 December

 

  • When New Year’s Day, Anzac Day, or Christmas Day falls on a Saturday or Sunday the next following Monday is also a public holiday. 
  • When Boxing Day falls on a Saturday the next following Monday is also a public holiday, and when Boxing Day falls on a Sunday or Monday the next following Tuesday is also a public holiday.

*Monday 26 December 2022 is a Boxing Day public holiday and also an additional Christmas Day public holiday at the same time.

Some regional areas in WA hold the Queen's Birthday public holiday on a different date - the 2020 dates have been proclaimed and are available on the Regional public holiday dates page. 

School term and school holiday dates for WA are on the Department of Education website

Earlier dates for public holidays can be found on the Previous years public holiday dates page.

Employment entitlements for public holidays

Employment entitlements for public holidays will vary based on an employee's award coverage and employment arrangements. 

 

Share this page:

Last modified: